logo waht new


Hospital Non-Executive Directors re-appointed for a further term

The NHS Trust Development Authority (NHS TDA) has today confirmed the re-appointment of Andrew Sleigh, John Burbeck and Bryan McGinity as Non-Executive Directors of Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust.

Mr Sleigh moved to Worcestershire in 1973 to work as a research physicist at the then Royal Radar Establishment. His career has included being Director General for the Ministry Of Defence's information and communication services, and Group Managing Director and Group Chief Technology Officer in QinetiQ plc.

He is a former Chairman of Wyvern Trust Ltd and has been a West Midlands Ambassador under the auspices of Advantage West Midlands and is a Fellow of Worcester University. He has also been a member of several advisory boards to UK Government and to the European Commission.

Mr Burbeck has experience of delivering customer focussed services in the public service, the commercial world and the voluntary sector. In the police he rose to the rank of Chief Constable in Warwickshire and led major national reforms of the criminal justice system.

He is currently a consultant with an international telecommunications company, leads a major criminal justice programme, and is Chairman of a not for profit organisation working to keep children safe.

Mr McGinity is a qualified Chartered Accountant who, for more than 20 years, led a number of diverse European Manufacturing and Distribution Businesses.

After running these businesses he spent four years working in the public sector on Local Government partnership development with the Oxfordshire e-Government Partnership and the Wiltshire and Swindon e-Government Partnership, as well as managing the ODPM National Project on Knowledge Management.

He is Chairman of South Worcestershire FE College and Trustee and Treasurer of the COB Foundation.

Harry Turner, Chairman of Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust, said: “I am delighted that Andrew, John and Bryan have been re-appointed. Since their initial appointment four years ago, they have brought invaluable experience and insight to the Board. My Board colleagues and I are delighted that they have been reappointed and we are looking forward to continuing working with them for the next two years.”

Non-executive appointments to NHS Trusts made by the NHS TDA are subject to the Code of Practice of the Commissioner for Public Appointments. 

Mr Sleigh, Mr Burbeck and Mr McGinity have all been appointed from January 1, 2015 until December 31, 2016 and are entitled to receive a remuneration of £6,157 per annum.